Affirmations

Affirmations are everywhere!  They are in books, calendars, coffee mugs, magazines, billboards, the internet.  Some of them are funny and make us laugh and others are a bit more serious and make us think.

My grandmother was the secretary of her bowling league and she would type up the weekly score sheet and always put a quote or affirmation on the bottom of the page.  She would receive books as gifts that were full of these and she especially enjoyed Erma Bombeck ( a humorist journalist and author of suburban life). When we would play in my grandparents basement, we would always read my grandmothers sheet to see what quote she put on it.  Those were good memories and now that I am an adult these quotes would make more sense to me :))

I find many of these an observation of life that makes you have an “aha” moment.  Many of these are just what we need to set us down a better path, or they may be just what we need when we are feeling down and sometimes they are just funny and make us smile.

I have decided that I would like to start out my day with an affirmation or quote.  It will be fun to look them up online and find ones that fit my needs that day.  I may want a good laugh ( I will probably start with Erma Bombeck in memory of my grandmother) or something to help me live positive ( I am reading Florence Scovel Shinn and she has many affirmations in her book ) or I may just google a random one online as a surprise. The whole point of the affirmation for myself is to give me a focus for my day and improve my outlook on life in a positive way.

I think it is important when you read the affirmation, that you really believe it to be true and try to apply it to your life. You must have faith that these words will make an impact on your life. If you come across one that really resonates with you, then say it every day until you feel that it has changed your life or that you have achieved what you wanted it to mean for you.  It is exciting to think of all the choices you have – happiness, start your day, money, success, faith, hope, employment, relationships. The opportunities are endless.  Just google whatever you are looking for and start reading!

My affirmation for today – “I am grateful for all the good things in my life and am open to receiving all the opportunities that are waiting for me.”

2 thoughts on “Affirmations

Leave a Reply

